LINE

Help

FAQ

I receive the message “The account you are trying to add cannot accept any more friends” toggle
There is a limit on the number of users you can add as a friend, and who can add you as a friend.

If the message “Sorry, the account you are trying to add cannot accept any more friends” appears when you try to add a user, the user has been added by many other users, so you cannot add them as a friend.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Automatically adding friends from contacts toggle
To automatically add the contacts saved on your phone as LINE friends, please see the settings below.

Your LINE Settings:
1. Go to the More or “…” tab > Settings, or tap the Settings link below.
2. Tap Friends.
3. Turn on Add Friends or “Auto Add Friends.”
If the option is already turned on, tap the refresh button next to the last synced date to manually sync your contacts.

Settings



If any of your contacts are not added, please check the following.

- Is your friend hidden or blocked?
1. Go to the More or “…” tab > Settings, or tap the Settings link below.
2. Tap Friends.
3. Tap Hidden Users or Blocked Users.
Settings
If you find the friend on either of the lists above, tap Edit then Display or Unblock. If you have removed the friend, you will not find them on either list.

- Are your friend’s settings correct?
You will not be able to automatically add your friend in the following cases.

1. If they have “Allow Others to Add” turned off.
However, they may be shown in your friend recommendations. Please see the following.
Friend Recommendations
2. If they are registered using Facebook and did not verify their phone number
3. If they are using a device that does not have a phone number (e.g., iPad, iPod touch, or tablet)

If any of your friends cannot be added automatically, you can add them manually using the steps in the following article.
Adding Friends

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Restoring removed friends toggle
If you have removed a friend and want to add them back to your friends list, you cannot use the auto add feature to do so. This means that even if you go to the More tab > Settings > Friends, and tap the icon next to Last Auto Add, the friend will not be added back to your friends list.

Please add the friend manually using ID search, QR code, or “Shake it!”.

Please see the following article about how to add friends manually.
Adding Friends Manually

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Friend is not who they are displayed as toggle
If you added the friend by syncing your contacts, the name they are saved as in your phone's list of contacts will be displayed. The display name they have set for themselves on LINE will be displayed under their name in your contacts in a smaller font on the profile pop-up.

For this reason, if your friend cancels the phone number you have in your contacts, or if the number in your contacts is wrong, a different person (the current owner of that phone number) will be displayed on your LINE friends list in your friend’s name.

If any of the following cases apply, please check your friend’s phone number by contacting them using a means other than LINE.

If the Issue is Happening on Your Device
- An account with your name is appearing on your friends list
Please check if you have yourself saved in your contacts with an old phone number.
- A friend who does not use LINE is appearing on your friends list
Please check if your friend’s phone number in your contacts is correct, and if you still have their old phone number.
- The name of a friend on your friends list suddenly changed
Please check if you have changed their name in your contacts.
- You tried chatting with a friend, but they turned out to be a different friend
Please check if you have added multiple phone numbers for that friend in your contacts.

If the Issue is Happening on Your Friend’s Device
- You are told by a friend that they see your account even though you don’t have a LINE account
Please check if your friend has an old phone number of yours in their contacts.
- You signed up for a new phone number, and were displayed as a friend on the LINE accounts of strangers
The strangers may have the previous owner of your phone number in their contacts.
- Another account with your name is displayed on your friend’s friends list
Please check if your friend has an old phone number of yours in their contacts.

Removing Friends

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Friends disappeared toggle
If All Your Friends Have Disappeared
You may have minimized your friends list. Please tap the light gray bar that says “Friends (number)” on the Friends tab to display all your friends again.

If Only Some of Your Friends Have Disappeared
When a friend deletes their LINE account, they will be removed from your friends list. To find out about your friend’s usage status, please check with them directly.

Please also check if you have blocked or hidden the friend that has disappeared using the steps below.

1. Go to the More or “…” tab > Settings, or tap Settings below.
2. Tap Friends.
3. Tap Hidden Users or Blocked Users.

Settings

Please note that you will not be able to see your friends on the lists above if you have already removed them. Please add them again.

If some of your friends disappeared after you changed to a new device, please see the following.
Carrying Over Accounts

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center