LINE

Help

Friend Recommendation Settings

How friend recommendations work toggle
Reasons Why Users are Displayed as Friend Recommendations
- They have your phone number in their contacts, but you do not have theirs.
- They know your ID and searched for you using it.
- They are in a group or multi-person chat that you are also in, and added you from the members list.
- A friend of yours sent your contact info to them in a chat, and they added you.
Please note that when a friend sends you as a contact, the recipient can only see your LINE display name, profile photo, and “What’s Up?” message.
- They added you using the URL in an invitation email, or with your QR code.

How you were added by that recommended friend may be stated in the following cases.
- They added you using your phone number.
- They added you using your QR code.
- They added you using your LINE ID.

It will not be stated in the following cases.
- They are in a group that you are also in and added you from it.
- A friend of yours sent your contact info to them, and they added you.

If you have “Auto Add Friends” turned on, and someone in your contacts is displayed under Friend Recommendations, they may have the following settings configured.
Auto Add Friends: On
Allow Others to Add: Off

The names displayed in your friend recommendations are the LINE display names they configure. If you are not sure who someone in your friend recommendations is, please check with them directly.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Preventing others from adding you toggle
If you do not want to be automatically added as a friend by someone who has your phone number, please follow the steps below. These steps will not affect existing friends.

1. Go to the More or “…” tab > Settings, or tap Settings below.
2. Tap Friends.
3. Turn off “Allow Others to Add.”

Settings

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Preventing ID Search toggle
To prevent others from searching for your ID, please follow the steps below.

1. Go to the More or “…” tab > Settings > Profile, or tap Profile below.
2. Turn off “Allow Others to Add by ID.”

Profile

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Filtering messages from non-friends toggle
To filter messages from users who are not your friends, please follow the steps below.

1. Go to the More or “…” tab > Settings, or tap Settings below.
2. Tap Privacy.
3. Tap Filter Messages.

Settings

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Blocking friend recommendations toggle
You can block users on your Friend Recommendations list using the steps below.

1. Go to More > Add Friends.
2. Tap the user you wish to block.
3. Tap Block.

It may take a while for the changes to take effect.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center