LINE

Help

About Groups

About Groups

Creating groups toggle
You can create groups to chat together with multiple friends. Unlike multi-person chats, you can name groups and also use notes and albums. Members of a group can also add one another as friends or chat individually. 

Please follow the steps below to create a group:

1. Go to More > Add Friends > Create a Group.
2. Enter a name for the group, then select the friends you want to add.
3. Tap Save.
4. An invitation will be sent to the friends you added. When each friend selects Join, they will become a member of the group. 
Note: Until a friend joins, they will be shown in the Pending section.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Inviting new friends to a group toggle
1. Go to the group chat you want to invite new friends to.
2. Tap the V icon.
3. Tap Invite.

Note: You can also use the Add button on the group’s main page. 

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Maximum friends per group toggle
You can invite up to 499 friends per group, excluding yourself.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Canceling a group invitation toggle
You can cancel a group invitation by following the steps below.

1. From the group main page, tap Members.
2. Tap Edit.
3. Tap Delete next to the member's name.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Accidentally declining a group invitation toggle
If you want to be invited to the group again, please tell a member to cancel your invitation and then invite you again.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Viewing group notes and albums toggle
You can view group notes and albums in the following ways:
 
• Tap the group you want to view the notes or albums for on your friends list, then tap Notes or Album on the group profile.
• Tap the notes icon at the top right of a group chat.
• Tap the Timeline menu icon at the top right of the Timeline, then the icon of the group you want to view the notes or albums for.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Creating group notes toggle
You can create group notes by following the steps below.

To post notes from a group:
1. Tap a group under the Friends tab.
2. Tap Notes.
3. Tap the pencil icon on the bottom right of the screen.



To post notes from Timeline:

1. Tap Timeline.

2. Tap the pencil icon on the upper right of the screen.

3. Tap Friends, Public, or Only Me on the top of the screen to open the Privacy Settings.

4. Tap the group you wish to post to.



 

If you wish to post an image, you can also use the Album feature, which is specifically for posting and viewing images.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Adding photos to an album toggle
You can add photos to an album by following the steps below.

1. Go to the main page of a group.
2. Tap Album.
3. Tap the album you wish to post an image in.
4. Tap the + button on the upper right of the screen.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

My group notes appear on my Timeline, but can my LINE friends see them too? toggle
Group notes on your Timeline are only visible to members of the group. Non-members will not be able to see them.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting group notes toggle
You can only delete group notes that you created. You can do so by following the steps below.

1. Tap the group you wish to post to under the Friends tab.
2. Tap Notes.
3. Tap the post you wish to delete.
4. Tap the edit button (the three dots icon) at the upper right of the screen.
5. Tap Delete.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting a group album toggle
To delete a group album:

1. Go to the Friends tab, then select the group with the album you want to delete.
2. Tap Album followed by the album you want to delete.
3. Tap the triangle next to the album name, then Delete Album.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Saving photos from a group album toggle
To save photos from a group album:

1. Go to the Friends tab.
2. Select the group.
3. Tap Album.
4. Select the photos you want to save from the album.
5. Tap the download icon.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting a group post created using a previous account toggle
You cannot delete posts, Likes, or comments made using an old account. To delete a comment posted using a previous account, you will need to ask the author of the post it is attached to help you. To delete a Like made using a previous account, the post it is attached to needs to be deleted.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting photos from a group album toggle
Note:
- Deleted data cannot be restored.
- If you delete any posts, a notification will be sent to the group chat notifying other members that you did so.

To delete photos from a group album:
1. Go to the Friends tab.
2. Tap the group name.
3. Tap Album.
4. Tap to open the photo you want to delete.
5. Tap the icon at the bottom-left.
6. Tap Remove.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Renaming an album toggle
To rename an album:
1. Go to the Friends tab.
2. Tap the name of the friend or group.
3. If the album is with an individual friend, tap Chat V > Albums. If the album is with a group, tap Album.
4. Tap the album you want to rename.
5. Tap the album name. 
Note: If no album name is set, the date it was created will be shown instead.
6. Tap Rename Album.
7. Enter a new name and tap Save.

Album names must be between 1 and 20 characters long. The same name cannot be used for multiple albums.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Maximum number of albums toggle
Maximum albums per group: 100
Maximum photos per album: 1,000
Maximum photos per upload: 100

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Leaving a group toggle
Your notes, albums, and photos will not be deleted if you leave a group. If there is any data you wish to delete, please do so before leaving the group.

When a group member deletes their account or leaves the group, a message saying "(friend's display name) left the group." will appear.

To leave a group:
1. Tap the name of the group you wish to leave.
2. Tap Group chat.
3. Tap the V icon.
5. Tap Leave > OK.



Once all members of a group leave, all data that was posted in it will be deleted. In this case, the data cannot be restored.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

What do other users see when I decline a group invitation? toggle
If you decline a group invitation, you will still be displayed as a pending member in the group. To have yourself completely removed from the group, the friend who invited you needs to cancel your invitation. 

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Viewing posts added to a group before joining toggle
Newly added group members will be able to see all posts and albums added to the group before they joined, but not previous chat messages.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting notes by previous group members toggle
You cannot delete notes by members who have left a group. 

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting a group or group members toggle
A group is deleted automatically when all members leave. If there are multiple members in the group, you will need to remove all of them using the steps below before the group can be deleted.

1. Go to the Friends tab.
2. Tap the group you want to delete.
3. Tap the member icons, Posts, or Albums.
4. Tap Members.
5. Tap Edit, then Remove next to each member.



Once you are the only member left, tap “Leave this Group” to leave the group and delete it.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center