LINE

Help

About Friends

The Basics

How do I change a friend's display name? toggle
The display name that your friends have set for themselves will appear on the PC version of LINE.

If you want to change a friend's display name, you can do so by following the steps below.

Note:
- This will also change the way their display name appears on the smartphone version of LINE.
- This will not change the way their display name appears on their own LINE account and on the accounts of other users.

Windows and Mac
1. From the main menu, click the friend icon.
2. Right-click the friend you want to change the display name for.
3. Click Change Friend’s Name.
4. Enter a name and then click the check mark.

Windows 10
1. From the main menu, click the friend icon.
2. Click the profile photo of the friend you want to change the display name for.
Note: Their profile will appear on the right side of the screen.
3. Click the pencil icon to right of their display name.
4. Enter a name and then click the Enter key.

Chrome
You cannot change your friends' display names on the Chrome version of LINE.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

How do I block a user on my Friends list? toggle
1. Click on Friends menu.
2. Right-click on the friend you wish to block.
3. Click Block.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

How do I create a group on the PC version of LINE? toggle
1. Click on the button in the upper right corner of the PC version of LINE to display the menu.
2. Select Add Group to bring up the Add Group window.
3. On the Add Group window, register a group name and an image, select members and click OK to invite the selected members.



Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Can I delete friends? toggle
Sorry. You can not delete friends at this moment, but you can block the user.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Leaving a group toggle
Even after leaving a group, the posts, albums, and notes you made will still remain. If there are any albums or notes you want to delete, please do so before leaving the group.

To leave a group:
1. From the main menu, click Friends.
2. Right-click the group you want to leave.
3. Click Leave this Group or Leave.
4. Click OK.
Note: When a member deletes their account or leaves the group, a message saying “** left the group” will appear in the chat.

If every member leaves the group, all posts in that group will be deleted. In this case, all posts from the deleted group cannot be restored.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Preventing others from adding you as a friend toggle
If you don’t want people that know your phone number to automatically add you as a friend, turn OFF Allow others to add me.

You can only configure this setting when signing up for a LINE account on the PC version. If you want to configure this setting after you signed up for an account, please delete it and sign up once again.

If you’re using the Windows 10 version of LINE, you’ll be able to do so even after signing up for an account. For steps on how to configure this setting on Windows 10, please see here.
Note: To check which versions of LINE you can use on PC or download the Windows 10 version, please see here.

If you signed up for LINE on a smartphone, you can check and change this setting.

From the smartphone version of LINE, go to Settings > Friends, and turn OFF Allow others to add me.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting a group and group members toggle
A group will be deleted once everyone in it has left.

If there are still some members left in a group, you'll need to delete them.

You can delete other members by following the steps below.
Note: You won't need the following if you're the only one left in the group.

1. From the main menu, click Friends.
2. Right-click the group you want to edit.
3. Click Edit this Group > Members.
4. Click the x mark next to the group member’s names.
5. Click OK.

After all other members have been removed, select Leave this Group to remove yourself and delete the group.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Hiding friends toggle
When you hide a friend on LINE:
- You'll still be able to receive messages from them.
- They will appear in Hidden Friends instead of your friend list.
- Updated profile and Timeline posts will still appear.
- They will not be completely deleted from your friend list.

For steps on how to delete a friend, see this Help article.

To hide a friend:
1. From the main menu, click Friends.
2. Right-click the friend you want to hide.
3. Click Hide.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center