LINE

Help

About Friends

Blocking friends toggle
Please follow these steps to block a friend.

1. Click on the friends icon from the left menu bar.
2. Right-click on the friend you wish to block.
3. Click Block.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

How do I create a group on the Windows 10 version of LINE? toggle
Please follow the steps below to create a group.

1. Click on the friends icon from the left menu bar, then click + at the top of the screen.
2. Select the check box for the friends you wish to add to the group.
3. Enter a group name then click OK.

The group photo can be set by clicking on the camera icon above the box to enter the group name.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

How do I change a friend's display name? toggle
The display name that your friends have set for themselves will appear on the PC version of LINE.

If you want to change a friend's display name, you can do so by following the steps below.

Note:
- This will also change the way their display name appears on the smartphone version of LINE.
- This will not change the way their display name appears on their own LINE account and on the accounts of other users.

Windows and Mac
1. From the main menu, click the friend icon.
2. Right-click the friend you want to change the display name for.
3. Click Change Friend’s Name.
4. Enter a name and then click the check mark.

Windows 10
1. From the main menu, click the friend icon.
2. Click the profile photo of the friend you want to change the display name for.
Note: Their profile will appear on the right side of the screen.
3. Click the pencil icon to right of their display name.
4. Enter a name and then click the Enter key.

Chrome
You cannot change your friends' display names on the Chrome version of LINE.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting a friend toggle
Before you can delete a friend, you need to block or hide them first.
Note: If you want to send them a message after deleting them, you'll need to add them as a friend again by searching their ID.

For steps on how to block or hide a friend, please see the following Help articles:


To delete a friend: 
1. Click the settings icon.
2. Click Settings > Friends.
3. From the Hidden or Blocked Users list, click Edit next to the friend you want to delete.
4. Click Delete.
5. After reading the pop-up message click OK.
Note: You cannot delete yourself from another user’s friend list.

You’ll still receive messages from users deleted from the Hidden Users list.

If you don’t want to receive messages or voice calls from someone, please block the user before deleting them.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Leaving a group toggle
Even after leaving a group, the posts, albums, and notes you made will still remain. If there are any albums or notes you want to delete, please do so before leaving the group.

To leave a group:
1. From the main menu, click Friends.
2. Right-click the group you want to leave.
3. Click Leave this Group or Leave.
4. Click OK.
Note: When a member deletes their account or leaves the group, a message saying “** left the group” will appear in the chat.

If every member leaves the group, all posts in that group will be deleted. In this case, all posts from the deleted group cannot be restored.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Preventing others from adding you as a friend toggle
If you don’t want people that know your phone number to automatically add you as a friend, please see the following.
Note: This will not affect friends that were already added.

1. Click the settings icon at the bottom left of the screen.
2. Click Settings > Privacy.
3. Turn OFF Allow Others to Add.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting a group and group members toggle
A group will be deleted once everyone in it has left.

If there are still some members left in a group, you'll need to delete them.

You can delete other members by following the steps below.
Note: You won't need the following if you're the only one left in the group.

1. From the main menu, click Friends.
2. Right-click the group you want to edit.
3. Click Manage Members > Members.
4. Click Edit.
5. Click the x mark at the top right of a member's profile photo.
6. Click OK.
7. Click Done.

After all other members have been removed, click Leave to remove yourself and delete the group.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Hiding friends toggle
When you hide a friend on LINE:
- You'll still be able to receive messages from them.
- They will appear in Hidden Users instead of your friend list.
- Updated profile and Timeline posts will still appear.
- They will not be completely deleted from your friend list.

For steps on how to delete a friend, see this Help article.

To hide a friend:
1. From the main menu, click Friends.
2. Right-click the friend you want to hide.
3. Click Hide.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center